Home > Churches > Synagogues > Ohev Sholom Synagogue

Ohev Sholom Synagogue

ohev_sholom.gif (134864 bytes)

East Eighth Street (Eighth & Welsh St.)
Chester, PA
Dedicated September 18, 1927

Ground was broken for the new building at Providence & Chester Roads in Wallingford, PA on July 7, 1963.
The new building was dedicated March 15, 1965.

Current location:
Two Chester Road, Wallingford PA 19086
Phone: 610-874-1465 • FAX: 610-874-1466

Shabbat Morning Services: 9:00 a.m.
Weekday Morning Services: 8:00 a.m.

Click here to visit Ohev Shalom's website.

Former Rabbis   |  Former Presidents  |   Synagogue's History  |   Membership Directory  |  More Pictures

If you have any information and or pictures that you would like to contribute about the history of this synagogue, please forward it to john@oldchesterpa.com

Former Rabbis


Rabbi Herman Eisenberg; Photo courtesy of Ohev Sholom
Rabbi Herman E. Eisenberg,
Photo courtesy of
Ohev Sholom Synagogue
Rabbi Herman E. Eisenberg - (1927-1942)
Rabbi Max Forman, (1942-1944)


Rabbi Naphtali Frishberg, (1944-1946)


Rabbi Louis Grossman, (1946-1950)


Rabbi Ira Sud, (1950-1961)


Rabbi Louis Kaplan; Photo courtesy of Ohev Sholom
Rabbi Louis Kaplan,
Photo courtesy of
Ohev Sholom Synagogue
Rabbi Louis Kaplan, (1961-1992)
Rabbi Stephen Grundfast - (1992-2001)


kaplan_2001.jpg (12157 bytes)
Rabbi Louis Kaplan,
Photo courtesy of
Ohev Sholom Synagogue website
Rabbi Louis Kaplan

(Interim, 2001, until a new Rabbi is hired)

Rabbi Mark Robbins
Rabbi Mark Robbins,
Photo courtesy of
Ohev Sholom Synagogue website
Rabbi Mark Robbins (2002-present)

Former Presidents: A. W. Wolson, (1928-1930)
Isaac Sapovits, (1931-1935)
Archie Levy, Esq., (1936)
Abe Tollin, (1937)
Archie Levy, Esq., (1938-1939)
Abe Tollin, (1940-1941)
M. J. Freed, (1942)
Theodore Abrams, (1943-1944)
Maurice Swimmer, (1945)
M. J. Freed, (1946-1950)
Leon Gordon, (1951-1952)
Frank Berman, (1953-1954)
Harry Much, (1955-1956)
Henry Goldstein, (1957-1958)
Samuel M. Tollen, Esq., (1959-1960)
Ranier M. Laub, (1961-1964)
Louis Dallett, (1964-1966)
Harry Shooster,  (1966-1969)
Simon Levin, (1969-1971)
Joseph Zommick, (1971-1973)
Donald Levinstein, (1973-1975)
Larry Starer, (1975-1977)
Eli Lax, (1977-1978)
Morton Wachs, (1978-1980)
Melvin Rudman, (1980-1982)
Melvin Levy, (1982-1984)
Joseph Berstein, (1984-1986)
Evelyn Bernstein, (1986-1988) - (First woman to serve as President)
Stanton Myerson, (1988-1990)
Bruce Bogdanoff, (1990-1992)
Irving Beerson, (1992-1994)
Andy Starer, (1994-1996)
Bruce Godick, (1996-1998)
Larry Wiseman, (1998-2000)
Jack Zigon, (2000-2001)

Jerome Rosset, (Current President 2001)


Synagogue's History Click here for a more detailed history of the Ohev Shalom Congregation from the 1965 Dedication Book.

In 1964, the Ohev Sholom congregation relocated to a new synagogue built on Chester Road near the intersection of Providence Road in Wallingford, PA.

The following history is from a typewritten sheet on file at the Delaware County Historical Society (DCHS).  The date and author are not identified...

This religious institution is an outgrowth of the first Jewish Congregation which was organized in Chester in the year 1898.  The Congregation Ohev Sholom, the parent body, having in charge the management and operation of the Synagogue and Center, with all its religious and other activities, was reorganized in the year 1921 in its present form and in its present name.  It serves the religious, racial and cultural needs of the entire Jewish community.  It occupies a large four-story building, located on Eighth, between Welsh and Sproul streets, which was dedicated September 18, 1927.  About four hundred families of Chester and its environs are affiliated with the Ohev Sholom Synagogue.

It has over one thousand communicants.  It maintains a Daily Hebrew School, Sabbath and Sunday School, with a total enrollment of over two hundred.  Some of the affiliated organizations are: The Ohev Sholom Sisterhood, composed of the Jewish women of the community; The Council of Jewish Juniors, one of the girls' organizations; The Aleph Zadik Aleph, one of the boys' organizations; The Simon Wolf Lodge of B'nai Brith, a men's organization; The Young Men's Hebrew Association, composed of the younger male element of the community; The Junior and Senior Hadassahs, branches of the National organization of Hadassah; The Hebrew Sheltering and Ladies Aid Society; The Synagogue Scout Troop, and the Jewish War Veterans.

The Synagogue Center has game rooms and social rooms and also maintains a free public library and reading room, and owns and operates its own cemetery at Brookhaven.

The Spiritual Leader of the Ohev Sholom Synagogue Center is Rabbi Herman E. Eisenberg.

The following article appeared in the Religion section of The Philadelphia Inquirer on September 8, 1993

By Kay Raftery, Inquirer Correspondent

In 1891, Chester's first Jewish congregation, B'nai Israel, was established, and in 1915, Congregation B'nai Aaron was chartered.  In 1920, the two congregations merged and formed Congregation Ohev Shalom.

In 1927, the synagogue was built on East Eighth Street in Chester.  To meet its growing suburban membership, 3 acres were bought at Providence and Chester Roads in Wallingford, and a new building was constructed in 1964 and dedicated on March 15, 1965.

In 1973, Congregation Mispallelim merged with Congregation Ohev Shalom.

Evelyn Bernstein of Wallingford, past president of the congregation - the first woman to serve in that capacity - and member of the board of directors, said Ohev Shalom is home to her.

"My father served as president," said Bernstein, "and my children are members.  The family atmosphere is what I like to emphasize to people who are thinking of joining our congregation.  It's a growing, vital congregation with lots of young members and many small children as is evidenced by the growth of our religious school..."


More Pictures: The Youth Council of Ohev Sholom Synagogue Center hosts a group of soldiers and sailors during World War II (Story and pictures from The Delaware County Advocate, June 1942)

2000, 2001, 2006 John A. Bullock III.

GDPub2.JPG (7902 bytes)

This page last updated 02/24/07